Roadmap

As a follow up to his memo announcing a road map for the College of Engineering which addresses the initiatives  President Frenk developed, Dean Bardet has formed six College-wide working groups that will address these efforts.

The groups of faculty, staff, and students have developed specific elements of the most relevant initiatives for the College and are continuing to actively work toward ensuring their development.

Excellence in Basic and Applied Science and Engineering

Ashutosh Agarwal BME Faculty a.agarwal2@miami.edu
Nurçin Çelik IE Faculty celik@miami.edu
Landolf Rhode-Barbarrigos CAE Faculty landolfrb@miami.edu
Sung Jin Kim ECE Faculty kim@miami.edu
Ryan Lee Karkkainen MAE Faculty r.karkkainen@miami.edu
Daniel Berg IE Faculty dberg@miami.edu
  Initiative #1

Problem-Based Interdisciplinary Collaboration

Abhishek Prasad BME Faculty a.prasad@miami.edu
Wangda Zuo CAE Faculty w.zuo@miami.edu
Xiangyang Zhou MAE Faculty xzhou@miami.edu
Ramin Moghaddass IE Faculty ramin@miami.edu
Fabrice Manns BME Faculty fmanns@miami.edu
Onur Tığlı ECE Faculty tigli@miami.edu
  Initiative #2

Hemispheric Innovation

Leonard Pinchuk BME Faculty len@Innovia-llc.com
Landon Grace MAE Faculty l.grace@miami.edu
Suhrud Rajguru BME Faculty s.rajguru@miami.edu
Francisco De Caso y Basalo CAE Faculty f.decasoybasalo@umiami.edu
Jie Xu ECE Faculty jiexu@miami.edu
Murat Erkoç IE Faculty merkoc@miami.edu
Zeshan Aziz Student zxa104@miami.edu
Kawan Amelung Student kawan.amelung@gmail.com
  Initiative #3

Educational Innovation

Jorge Bohorquez BME Faculty jbohorquez@miami.edu
Ines Maria Basalo MAE Faculty i.basalo@miami.edu
Nina Miville IE Faculty ndecario1@miami.edu
Michael Scordilis ECE Faculty m.scordilis@miami.edu
German Acosta Student a.german@miami.edu
David Poole CoE Staff dtpoole@miami.edu
  Initiative #4

Excellence in Administration

Angie Del-Llano BME Staff a.delllano@miami.edu
Danay Cruz MAE Staff dcruz22@miami.edu
Daritza Blanco IE Staff d.berio@miami.edu
Maria D. Rojas CoE Staff mrojas@miami.edu
Natasha Koermer Student n.koermer@umiami.edu
Khaled Abdelrahman CoE Staff kzakaria@miami.edu
Emrah Çelik MAE Faculty e.celik@miami.edu
  Initiative #5

Culture of Belonging

Vincent Omachonu IE Faculty vomachonu@miami.edu
Diana Arboleda CAE Faculty d.arboleda@umiami.edu
Alice Tomei BME Faculty atomei@miami.edu
Kyrah Williams Student k.williams19@umiami.edu
Diego Cusco Student d.cusco@umiami.edu
Ann Helmers CoE Staff ahelmers@miami.edu
  Initiative #6

The groups are small so that they can work efficiently and purposely cut across departments to include faculty, staff and students but obviously they could not include all students, faculty and staff. Everyone, however, is welcome to share their ideas, comments, and suggestions with these groups. You may contact the working group members in person, by sending an email, or by using the online survey below.

All groups delivered their recommendations in a timely manner so that that the voices of the CoE faculty, staff and students could be heard at the President’s first retreat in May,2016. It remains critical that we all become proactive and provide an influential force in the President's initiatives so the College can achieve higher levels of academic excellence. The Phillip and Patricia Frost's gift for basic and applied science and engineering offers us a unique opportunity to reach new levels of excellence.

As depicted in the figure below, the recommendations of the six working groups will be useful in developing interdisciplinary perspectives to complement the strategic plans of our five departments.

roadmap

On March 18, 2016, the working group recommendations and departmental strategic plans were shared and posted on the CoE website. An online survey on the CoE website allowed all faculty, staff and students the opportunity to give feedback.

On March 31, 2016, the revised recommendations and plans were submitted for approval through formal channels, including Faculty at large, College Faculty Council, and, where necessary, Faculty Senate.

Everyone's participation and input are essential to shape the future of the College and the University. Together, we will advance a clear vision and detailed road map reflecting the College's excellence and embodying the President's initiatives.

Related Links:

Draft summary of recommendations for CoE initiatives

 

Survey

Fill out our survey to submit your comments, suggestions, ideas to any of the six working groups