Roadmap

As a follow up to his memo announcing a road map for the College of Engineering which addresses the initiatives  President Frenk developed, Dean Bardet has formed six College-wide working groups that will address these efforts.

The groups of faculty, staff, and students have developed specific elements of the most relevant initiatives for the College and are continuing to actively work toward ensuring their development.

Excellence in Basic and Applied Science and Engineering

Ashutosh AgarwalBME Facultya.agarwal2@miami.edu
Nurçin ÇelikIE Facultycelik@miami.edu
Landolf Rhode-BarbarrigosCAE Facultylandolfrb@miami.edu
Sung Jin KimECE Facultykim@miami.edu
Ryan Lee KarkkainenMAE Facultyr.karkkainen@miami.edu
Daniel BergIE Facultydberg@miami.edu
 Initiative #1

Problem-Based Interdisciplinary Collaboration

Abhishek PrasadBME Facultya.prasad@miami.edu
Sung Hee JooCAE Facultys.joo1@miami.edu
Xiangyang ZhouMAE Facultyxzhou@miami.edu
Ramin MoghaddassIE Facultyramin@miami.edu
Fabrice MannsBME Facultyfmanns@miami.edu
Onur TığlıECE Facultytigli@miami.edu
 Initiative #2

Hemispheric Innovation

Leonard PinchukBME Facultylen@Innovia-llc.com
Landon GraceMAE Facultyl.grace@miami.edu
Suhrud RajguruBME Facultys.rajguru@miami.edu
Francisco De Caso y BasaloCAE Facultyf.decasoybasalo@umiami.edu
Jie XuECE Facultyjiexu@miami.edu
Murat ErkoçIE Facultymerkoc@miami.edu
Zeshan AzizStudentzxa104@miami.edu
Kawan AmelungStudentkawan.amelung@gmail.com
 Initiative #3

Educational Innovation

Jorge BohorquezBME Facultyjbohorquez@miami.edu
Ines Maria BasaloMAE Facultyi.basalo@miami.edu
Nina MivilleIE Facultyndecario1@miami.edu
Michael ScordilisECE Facultym.scordilis@miami.edu
German AcostaStudenta.german@miami.edu
David PooleCoE Staffdtpoole@miami.edu
 Initiative #4

Excellence in Administration

Angie Del-LlanoBME Staffa.delllano@miami.edu
Danay CruzMAE Staffdcruz22@miami.edu
Daritza BlancoIE Staffd.berio@miami.edu
Maria D. RojasCoE Staffmrojas@miami.edu
Natasha KoermerStudentn.koermer@umiami.edu
Khaled AbdelrahmanCoE Staffkzakaria@miami.edu
Emrah ÇelikMAE Facultye.celik@miami.edu
 Initiative #5

Culture of Belonging

Vincent OmachonuIE Facultyvomachonu@miami.edu
Diana ArboledaCAE Facultyd.arboleda@umiami.edu
Alice TomeiBME Facultyatomei@miami.edu
Kyrah WilliamsStudentk.williams19@umiami.edu
Diego CuscoStudentd.cusco@umiami.edu
Ann HelmersCoE Staffahelmers@miami.edu
 Initiative #6

The groups are small so that they can work efficiently and purposely cut across departments to include faculty, staff and students but obviously they could not include all students, faculty and staff. Everyone, however, is welcome to share their ideas, comments, and suggestions with these groups. You may contact the working group members in person, by sending an email, or by using the online survey below.

All groups delivered their recommendations in a timely manner so that that the voices of the CoE faculty, staff and students could be heard at the President’s first retreat in May,2016. It remains critical that we all become proactive and provide an influential force in the President's initiatives so the College can achieve higher levels of academic excellence. The Phillip and Patricia Frost's gift for basic and applied science and engineering offers us a unique opportunity to reach new levels of excellence.

As depicted in the figure below, the recommendations of the six working groups will be useful in developing interdisciplinary perspectives to complement the strategic plans of our five departments.

roadmap

On March 18, 2016, the working group recommendations and departmental strategic plans were shared and posted on the CoE website. An online survey on the CoE website allowed all faculty, staff and students the opportunity to give feedback.

On March 31, 2016, the revised recommendations and plans were submitted for approval through formal channels, including Faculty at large, College Faculty Council, and, where necessary, Faculty Senate.

Everyone's participation and input are essential to shape the future of the College and the University. Together, we will advance a clear vision and detailed road map reflecting the College's excellence and embodying the President's initiatives.

Related Links:

Draft summary of recommendations for CoE initiatives